Soundwaves Perinatal Bereavement Support

Bereavement Support For Parents Grieving the Loss of a Baby During or Just After Pregnancy

From the Depths of Despair February 7, 2009

Filed under: Bereavement Support,miscarriage,Stillbirth — Claudia @ 3:10 pm

A friend of mine whose baby Nora was stillborn, sent me the most beautiful note at Thanksgiving two years ago. I reread her words often, especially when I’m feeling unable to  cope with the challenges of the day. Here is an excerpt:

“Nora reminds me each day of how lucky I am to have what I have here on Earth, she has taught me how to grow out of the depths of despair to make myself a better person, and make my life a better life through helping others.  She gave me the gift of understanding pain and turning grief into action.  What can we do to help each other? How can we make a positive impact on this world while we are here? Nora taught me to look at each day as an opportunity to be explored, as an opportunity to reach out to each other.”

If you have just experienced the death of your baby, this sentiment may seem almost impossible to attain. Even though it is hard to imagine, you will get through this horrific time, with your baby to guide you. Some days may seem impossible, but take it one small step at a time.  And know that you are not alone. There are so many of us out here (over 26,000 stillbirths in the U.S. alone this year- that’s a lot of broken hearts). We are part of a club that no one wants to belong, but we are here, grieving, healing together.

I have added some more resources under blog roll on the right side of this page. Please contact me if you would like me to add more.

