Soundwaves Perinatal Bereavement Support

Bereavement Support For Parents Grieving the Loss of a Baby During or Just After Pregnancy

Hope and Understanding August 22, 2009

One of my oldest and dearest friend is going through a very tough time lately. Her brother-in-law (to whom she was very close) just died a very difficult death to Lou Gehrig’s Disease. While she was at his funeral she got a phone call from her mother saying that her father had not been able to get out of bed for a few days and had now fallen on the floor and she couldn’t get him up. To make a long story short, once they got him to the was hospital they found he has late stage brain cancer and only has a few months to live. Needless to say I want to be there to support her, as she was for me when I gave birth to my stillborn twin sons.

At that time she wrote me a beautiful poem that I would like to share with you:

 

Two Angels in Your Garden

Two Angels found your garden

At this last summer’s end

To be their place of rest

And to comfort my close friend

 

To stay close by through autumn’s glow

through your grief and sadness

to heal all your tender wounds

and protect you from the madness

 

So the frost does come

And turns gold to brown

So cold, and empty would the winter be

Without those souls around

 

Then one spring morning

Hope comes peeking through

Watch it showered with love and joy

And grow to something new

 

When welcoming the summer warmth

And the beauty that has rose

Have no fear or sorrow

That comes with seasons close

 

For two angels in your garden

In their arms is where you’ll be

Find calm and solace there

And new hope where they lead

 

I hope I can be there for her as she was for me at this difficult time. Once such tragedy strikes any of us (and from my perspective especially after losing a baby) we all need someone who can pick us up and give us some sense of comfort and hope for the future. You might find this in a support group, surrounded by people who have gone through the same experience. You might find it in something someone has written, or, if you are lucky enough, you have friends and family who will be loving and patient with you as you grieve during this difficult time.

I hope you find some sense of comfort and hope here. I am thinking of all your angels today…

Until Next Time,

Claudia

 

 

 

 

